Words, words, words!

I gave away six boxes of books.  In keeping with a New Year’s resolution (and again, how often, really, do you get to type those words?), I packed up six boxes of books–mainly ones I’ve read, hardcover, paperback, novels, nonfiction–and gave ’em away.  I packed up three more boxes of plays and books on theater.  Gave those away too.  Getting rid of books!

And I still have so many books.  I can’t help it!  I love reading, of course, but I absolutely love buying books.  It’s the only shopping outside of pajamas that is any fun.  It’s like the column Nick Hornby used to write for Believer magazine:  Books Bought, Books Read.  There’s nothing quite like roaming a bookstore, thinking of what you might read (Let The Great World Spin, by Colum McCann), what you’ve been thinking of reading forever (I picked up Richard Russo’s Empire Falls so many times!), what you’ve already read more than once (A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius, by David Eggers), what you wish you could read again for the first time (The Tender Bar, by J.R. Moehringer), what you’d never read in your life (Proust!  Kafka!  Joyce Carol Oates!).

All cleaned up, and still so many words, words, words!

And so it continues:  I’ve cracked the spine on two new books, one a thoughtful gift: Living In A Foreign Language, by the actor / author Michael Tucker, and Writing Down the Bones, by Natalie Goldberg.  Who knows where they’ll go when I’m through with ’em?

My favorite little bookstore in the world.

One Response to “Words, words, words!”

  1. Tommy Says:

    Books; the only things better than a sammich….

Leave a Reply

