An Open Letter to NBC

I’ve been drinking Amstel Brights and watching my cell phone end and jet skiing and reading Hemingway and not blogging.  Bad Wally, bad!

March 15, 2010

Dear (whoever’s left at) the National Broadcast Company:

What the hell is this crap at 8 pm, EST?!

Or:  The other day I ripped a picture of an upside-down U.S. Olympic skier, and taped it to my wall.  Am I too old to tape up pictures from a magazine to my wall?  Absolutely.  But here’s the thing: I miss the Winter Olympics.

I miss the sport, the competition, the spirit, the camaraderie.  I miss tuning in at 8 pm for an avuncular chat with Bob.  I miss tossing it out to Whistler and Cypress Mountain.  I miss snowboard cross and speed-skating and even curling.  I miss Lindsey Vonn and Julia Mancuso.  I miss those friendly Canadians and their deserved gold medal (you know the one).  I even miss Mary Carillo in that stupid Mountie outfit!

And judging from the ratings for Chuck, Mercy and The Biggest Loser 9 (Oh man, those nine years have really flown by right, like the Holocaust.  Hello?), you do too.  So I have an idea for you to suggest your friends at the I.O.C.:  Year-round Winter Olympics!

Please look into this modest idea.  In the meantime, I’ll be trying to figure out how to pronounce Sochi.

Yours, Wally

I miss her.

One Response to “An Open Letter to NBC”

  1. Tommy Says:

    I second that!!!!

Leave a Reply

