True Story (IV)

The True Story series has been a hit here at This Way to the Egress!  (I’ve decided it’s a hit!)  Previous True Stories:  I, II and III.

True story:

A few weekends ago I went to my alma mater, Tenafly High School, and took in their tremendous production of Cole Porter’s Anything Goes.  In fact, through circumstances of life I went both Thursday and Saturday nights, and was damn pleased I did.

Cut to:  Several days or so later I was downtown at the local bookstore, when behind the counter was one of the actresses in the show.  This particular actress (a high school senior, I later learned) played Bonnie, the gal sidekick to the gangster Moonface Martin, with whom she had excellent comedic chemistry, and I told her I thought so.

“Thank you,” she replied.”  “Yes, I actually wound up seeing the show twice…  really superb production.”

“Thanks.  Do you have kids in the school?”

I clutched my heart and staggered away, as her colleague laughed at my horror.  “Kids in the school?” I said as I recoiled.  “Kids in the school?  Just how old do you think I am?”  Wait, don’t answer that.

True story.

So you're saying there'll be no auditioning for '90210'?

3 Responses to “True Story (IV)”

  1. I’m Just A Wild And Not Funny Guy (True Story V) « Wally's Blog Says:

    […] I’m Just A Wild And Not Funny Guy (True Story V) By thiswaytotheegress True story: […]

  2. And A Duck To Be Named Later (VII) « Wally's Blog Says:

    […] By thiswaytotheegress True story (though perhaps not mine, but really, who’s quibbling?).  True story: Yeah, but think rabbit: Elongate the […]

  3. True Story (VIII) « Wally's Blog Says:

    […] Story (VIII) By thiswaytotheegress We haven’t had a True Story in a while, so… I looked a bit like […]

Leave a Reply

