‘The City’

I was in ‘the city’ (i.e., Manhattan) late Saturday night, which is to say I met up with a friend in from Boston (not a friend of the blog, it must be said; she has a strict no-blog policy) and we had a midnight dinner at a brasserie replete with french onion soup and a bottle of Sauvignon blanc.  My parents, being way hipper than I am, were also in the city Saturday night: cocktail party, black tie dinner dance, drinks with friends at one of the great, unknown New York City haunts.

So what?  Many nights are spent in ‘the city.’

As my friend and I drove uptown, we took 8th Avenue and passed hordes of tourists blocked off from Times Square, NYPD and NYFD sequestering folks from the theater district.  We figured Will Smith was finally shooting a sequel to that movie where only his dog can afford to roam mid-town Manhattan.

Obviously we were wrong.  Turns out, you might’ve heard of this, there was a little thing about, gee, I don’t know, a freaking car bomb.

But here’s the thing:  My friend and I were back in the city Sunday, tucking into eggs and mimosas at brunch, seeing people walk the streets, frolic in Madison Square Park, take advantage of the truly gorgeous spring weather.

And no one had a New York minute for the possibility of a car bomb.

Ya gotta love ‘the city’.

3 Responses to “‘The City’”

  1. Angie Says:

    I miss you Wally! Glad to have the blog to get a glimpse into your faraway world:) I do think you meant to say that you dined in a brasserie and not a brassiere though- or maybe not… xo

  2. Rock Solid Says:

    You blog just gets better and better. Please keep ’em coming!

  3. thiswaytotheegress Says:

    Angie, you are funny and the best. Let me know when the kiddo arrives. I miss ya too! (Fox is the friend mentioned in this post!)

Leave a Reply

