GOOOOOOOOOAL!

Okay, I’ll admit it, whatever, I’ll fess up:  I’ve got a temperature, and it’s rising.  It’s green and gold and blue and red and yellow and white.  I’ve got World Cup fever.

I’m watching soccer, for the first time in my life.  I mean, I’m not understanding all of it (from what I do gather, it’s a good thing to stay on the ball, right?), and I’m not, you know, rousing myself at 6:55 am to catch New Zealand and Slovokia duke it out to a thrilling 0 to 0 tie, but I’m catching the games when I can; I’m reading the wonderful George Vecsey columns on soccer; and I know (somewhat) what it means that North Korea scored a goal against Brazil, or that (wow, right now!) the Swiss are beating Brazil.  I know who Landon Donovan is, and Maradona is, and how those damn Frenchies tipped it in over Ireland with a handball.  (I even know the term ‘handball’.)I’ve even bookmarked the Times’ soccer football blog.  (Admittedly, it’s in my bookmarks folder titled ‘baseball’.)

And while the global game is not going to overtake my affections for the national pastime, well, there is something beautiful and interesting and even thrilling about it.  Obviously the game I watched whole, the game I was most caught up in was last Saturday’s U.S.A. vs. British Petroleum England, and it was disheartening when we Yanks (and this is the only sport I’ll refer to myself as a ‘Yank’ in) gave up that early goal, and I felt a rush when that poor, poor bloke Robert Green (hit that link; it was love!) so royally screwed up and we tied the game.  Gooooooooal!

We’re America, and this time, we’re truly part of the world.  And while I don’t understand this football as well as I do when, say, Shaun White or Dana Torres represents Team USA, I’m watching end enjoying it.  Some fan The Times quoted the other day said it best:  “Soccer is a lot like life.  Sometimes you win, sometimes you lose, and sometimes you tie.”

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to go on eBay and get a vuvuzela before next Wednesday’s match against Algeria.

2 Responses to “GOOOOOOOOOAL!”

  1. Elin Says:

    Check out Roger Cohen’s piece in yesterday’s Times.
    http://www.nytimes.com/2010/06/15/opinion/15iht-edcohen.html?ref=rogercohen

  2. GOAL. « Wally's Blog Says:

    […] By thiswaytotheegress GOAL. In the 91st […]

Leave a Reply

